The small gem inlaid in Rio’s north zone, Engenho de Dentro safeguards old houses and protects traditions that have withstood time. It is still common to see sandals standing for goalposts with kids playing soccer in the streets and residents sitting on the sidewalks, just like in the old times. The settlement of the region dates back to the eighteenth century when it was part of Inhaúma, a large rural area producer of sugarcane and coffee - which later gave rise to the neighborhoods of Del Castilho, Inhaúma, Olaria, Bonsucesso and even Penha. The name Engenho de dentro (engenho translates as mill in english) as well as the neighbors Engenho Novo and Engenho da Rainha derives from the sugarcane culture.
The deployment of the railroad Pedro II (later to be called Central do Brasil) was decisive for the occupation and development of the region from the second half of the nineteenth century. Beside the station, that received the name of the neighborhood, ran a grand railway complex for maintenance of locomotives, with workshops of painting, casting, carpentry, designed to meet 4000 km of roads, 700 locomotives and 5,000 cars, also from other states. Part of it is kept by the Train Museum and the newly opened square Praça do Trem. The decay of the federal railway system resulted in the abandonment of this structure up until the construction of the stadium Engenhão. Opened in 2007 for the Pan American Games, the stadium hosted the track and field, role that it will also play in the 2016 Olympic Games, where Rolé Engenho de Dentro begins.
Image: Engenho de Dentro in 1958, IBGE